Skip to content

Welcome to No Car Go!

December 1, 2009

Hello, and welcome to No Car Go, a new blog where being car-free is the name of the game.

No hands!

Hooray, I'm car-free!

My name is Amy, and I’ve been car-free since 2006 when my Nissan Sentra breathed its last breath. Since then, I’ve walked, run, biked, bussed, subway-ed, and carpool-ed my way through life. As a result, I’ve got stronger legs, a weaker carbon footprint, and a lot more respect for high-quality umbrellas.

In this blog, I’ll explore what it means to be car-free in the 21st century. Heck, if the mood strikes, I might even explore what it was, or will be, like to be car-free in some other century.

When you come to No Car Go, here’s what you can reasonably expect to find me doing:

  • Celebrating the many and varied benefits of a car-free life
  • Lamenting the many and varied limitations of a car-free life
  • Building community around a car-free culture
  • Giving tips on how to live and move car-freely
  • Sharing meanderings on the car-free experience

I hope you’ll come to No Car Go often for information, inspiration, and a laugh now and then. I also hope you’ll pitch in your own helpful information, inspiring remarks, and hilarious experiences in the comments section of each post.

I’ll conclude this momentous inaugural post with some of my favorite car-free lyrics:

I ride my bike, I roller skate, don’t drive no car.
Don’t go too fast, but I go pretty far.
For somebody who don’t drive, I’ve been all around the world.
Some people say I’ve done all right for a girl.

– from “Brand New Key” by Melanie

Car-freely,
Amy

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Mark permalink
    December 1, 2009 9:57 pm

    Sweet! looking forward to your insights!

  2. December 1, 2009 9:58 pm

    Awesome! Can’t wait to read all about it!

  3. December 1, 2009 10:53 pm

    shame you did not start this blog in 1996 when you started your car free life.

  4. Clara permalink
    December 1, 2009 11:15 pm

    Sweet! Go Amy!
    One thing I’ve noticed is that it is extremely different to be somewhere like Boulder than somewhere like NY. In Brooklyn, it was only occasionally difficult to be car-less. In Boulder I rely a lot on my car. I think it’s partially the whole public transportation thing, and partially about the general culture of the places.

  5. Adam permalink
    December 2, 2009 10:45 am

    I’m not car free, but my smart car would fit in well with your header! Congrats Amy, it looks great, and I can’t wait to see where you take it from here.

  6. Shawn Sweeney permalink
    December 2, 2009 10:49 am

    I am putting a vote in for some creative pieces on life with out a car in other eras or ages. That would be pretty sweet.

  7. Wendy permalink
    December 2, 2009 1:27 pm

    your BLOG title made me think of a little rap by Biggie, you might know it, goes a little sumpthin’ like this:

    …escargot, my car go, one sixty, swiftly
    wreck it buy a new one
    your crew run, run ,run
    your crew run, run…

    anyway, can’t wait to read more of your wise words and ramblings.

  8. Lizzie permalink
    December 2, 2009 5:29 pm

    I am so excited for this official launch, from the title to the header (oh, and content too). This is much anticipated, and I will pour over every blog you post. Super great concept… and lifestyle! Go Amy Go! (PS I sure hope some encounters with the LaPorte Transporte make it in!)

    Car-fully,
    Liz

  9. Amy permalink
    December 2, 2009 8:59 pm

    You go girl!

  10. avaerewyck permalink
    December 10, 2009 7:49 am

    Thanks so much for everyone’s support! I’m excited about this blog too, and I hope you’ll subscribe and continue to follow.

    Clara, you’re definitely right. It feels a lot better to hop on your bike or the subway than to beg a friend for a ride. What about the rest of you? Is your city friendly or un-friendly to car-free-ness?

Trackbacks

  1. Happy First Birthday, No Car Go! « No Car Go

Leave a Reply

