Skip to content

Indie rockers won’t believe me, but I swear it’s true.

December 10, 2009

I was not aware that Arcade Fire had a song called “No Cars Go” before I chose “No Car Go” as the title of this blog. It’s true that credit is due in my naming process, but it’s not due to some French Canadian hipsters. So, who’s the genius who came up with the name No Car Go?

It’s Liz, my dear, dear friend who has known me since we were both car-free, by law. We met in sixth grade and quickly bonded over our shared affinity for puffy paint and Honey Comb cereal. Since we spent so many minutes and hours together during our formative years, we often exhibit that sharing-a-brain behavior so common in BFFs.

Others look at me blankly when I give them a shoulder punch and say “Good goin’,” but Liz knows exactly which Roseanne episode I’m alluding to (the one where Darlene gets her period and Dan is at

BFFs are a good source for blog names.

a loss for encouraging words). Others don’t appreciate the heightened enjoyment of eating the crust of your sandwich first, but Liz understands the importance of saving the best bite for last.

One time Liz and I showed up at a meeting of friends after not having seen one another for more than a year (and not having lived in the same city for more than 10 years), wearing nearly identical outfits—and they weren’t ready-matched Gap sets. We both had on calf-length jean skirts hand-sewn from old pairs of jeans; thick, dark tights; funky brown boots; and red-hued scarves looped around our necks.

If you’ve had a friend like Liz—or even if you haven’t—you understand why, when Liz said she had some ideas for blog names, I listened up. She fished around in the pocket of her second-hand ski vest (of which I have a similar model) and came up with a crumpled grocery receipt. On the back of it was her brainstormed list.

I couldn’t read the first idea on the list. It looked like she’d scrawled the thing while driving (something I sure would never do!). The second idea was “Forever Shotgun.” Not broad enough. The third idea was “No Car Go.”

That was it. No car, but still going—by foot, by bike, by public transport, and by carpool. Going to exciting new places and going to the same old places. No car, but going on about life.

That was exactly it. And Liz had never even heard of Arcade Fire.

Car-freely,

Amy

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Wendy permalink
    December 10, 2009 10:15 am

    and, as I like to tell my English students here in Deutschland, the No Car Go name is actually a little play on words since you have no cargo!!! Isn’t that clever!
    I print and use your blog in class, students love it, don’t you feel famous!?

  2. avaerewyck permalink
    December 10, 2009 11:23 am

    Wow, an international sensation! I’m honored.

  3. Sara permalink
    December 14, 2009 7:38 am

    Aim,
    Love your blog! Thank you for posting your thoughts. I love the pic of you and Liz in the same outfits after a long time away from each other. So cute! I can’t wait to hear more stories about No Car Go. I love the name…I think of No Cargo (like no added stuff) and love the way you are minimizing your stuff. As long as you have a fancy coffee pot, that is all you need in life 🙂 Love you,
    Sara

  4. avaerewyck permalink
    December 16, 2009 2:49 pm

    Thanks so much for your kind words, Sara. “No cargo” sometimes, but I’ll be adding some posts soon about how best to carry your stuff without a car. Though I agree that an Italian-style percolator is number one on the list, I’d be a liar if I said I always pack lightly. 🙂

  5. Yuri permalink
    December 23, 2009 5:00 am

    Indie rockers may not believe you, but they are still the ones most likely to support what you’re doing, so be nice.

    http://spinearth.tv/report/blind-pilots-bicycle-tour-documentary-trailer

  6. avaerewyck permalink
    December 29, 2009 10:44 am

    Point noted, Yuri. No offense intended! I’d never say an unkind word about people, like the ones you link to, who do such impossibly cool things like biking across the country to share their music. Thanks for sharing both your thoughts and the info.

Trackbacks

  1. Turning 30 on a Bike « No Car Go
  2. Gas Money: How old is too old? « No Car Go

Leave a Reply

