Skip to content

Why Sisters are the Best Invention Ever

March 9, 2010

The last time we converged in Leuven

I’m excited. Want to know why?

This weekend, I get to see both of my sisters for the third time in less than year.

Since the first of the three of us left for college in 1990, the distances between our places of residence have ranged from a three-hour drive to a trans-Atlantic flight—so, for us, three triple-sister reunions in a year is a cause for celebration.

The celebration will take place in Leuven, Belgium, where my oldest sister, Lori, is working toward an international MBA. I’ll fly from Italy up to Düsseldorf, Germany, where my middle sister, Wendy, will pick me up and drive us both to Leuven. Then, most likely, there will be lots of talking and laughing, punctuated by cones of

From left to right: Lori and Wendy

frites and bottles of Stella. My sisters and I have a good time together.

At least, we do when we’re not being critical, jealous, or snippety toward one another. But I don’t think we could be sisters, by definition, if we didn’t frustrate, annoy, and infuriate one another, even as we support, protect, and love one another. Fortunately, now that Lori, Wendy, and I are in our 30s, we seem more capable than ever of maximizing the love and minimizing the snippetiness.

Yep, sisters are a good time—and they’re also a good source of rides.

Mine are anyway. In my years of car-free-ness, they’ve generously helped me on my way to destinations more times than I count. Here are a couple notable times:

  • Lori once took me and everything I own across a good portion of the country when I moved back to Indiana from

    So sweet, and they're all mine.

    D.C. Not only did she allow me to pack her two-year-old CRV to the roof, but she didn’t complain when I insisted we stop every two hours to check on my pride and joy mounted on a bike rack lashed to the hatchback trunk.

  • Wendy once drove me to the Cologne train station, an hour and half away from her house, at 4 a.m., so I could take a train to Frankfurt to catch my flight back to the States—a nocturnal journey that saved me $200 and cost her three hours of sleep on a workday.

I could think of more times that my big sisters have saved my little car-free butt, but you get the idea.

Sisters are cool, especially mine.

Car-freely,
Amy

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Wendy permalink
    March 9, 2010 4:34 pm

    Best blog ever, rockin’ pictures! You definitely have benefited from our rides on many occasions, but I also remember your little Nissan ride getting 4 ladies up into the Colorado Rocky Mountain High…sing along with John Denver!!
    I just have one comment: you must have been in a deep sleep (shocking, you never sleep in a moving car!) when we drove to Köln at 4am. It is only 35 minutes from my house, maybe even faster in the middle of the night.
    Love ya scruff. Can’t to truck your arsch around Europe one last time this weekend!

  2. Melanie Evans permalink
    March 9, 2010 4:52 pm

    Hi Amy – I have two sisters also and we have the same type of relationship….big parts love and hugs and some parts snippety, etc. I’m glad you’re getting some triple-sister-time and that you’re taking pictures of it and sharing with us! Safe travels! Love, Melanie

  3. pawl permalink
    March 11, 2010 1:49 am

    Yeah, sisters are pretty awesome. Some of my favorite times with my sister were road trips, whether just across ND for thanksgiving or half way across the country when she moved to CO from NYC.
    Things got weird in that van that no one else has ever been able to understand.

    Hey mle, if you’re reading this, which you will be because I just sent you the link… Babaganoush!

  4. March 12, 2010 1:57 pm

    You three make my life complete, knowing I have such wonderful daughters that care about each other no matter how close or how far away you are from each other.
    Love you all

  5. avaerewyck permalink
    March 15, 2010 8:29 am

    Aw, what sweet comments you all made! Mom, look forward to seeing you on Thursday!

Trackbacks

  1. Cool Points for Belgium « No Car Go
  2. When to Break Down and Rent a Car « No Car Go
  3. Help! Save me from the mobility crisis! « No Car Go
  4. Slow and Steady, Sans Shell and Scales « No Car Go

Leave a Reply

