Skip to content

Waxing Poetic for National Bike Month

May 4, 2010

It’s the start of the League of American BicyclistsNational Bike Month—in fact, we’re already four days in!

In honor of this worthwhile and car-free-relevant designation, I could tell you all about how to promote the cause, find an event near you, or plan your own event, but why do that when I could compose an ode to my very own beloved bicycle?

Ahem.

Better Than Ice Cream, and Probably Frozen Custard Too

Thither sits my muse.

She’s brown and white and rode all over.
She’s more good luck than a four-leaf clover.
She gives me a lift to the gym or the store.
She lifts my spirits when life’s a bore.

Maybe you guessed that “she” is my bike,
but you need to know what riding her is like.

It’s like waking up to a sunny new day,
and knowing that coffee is on its way.

It’s less like white bread
and more like rye toast.
It’s not as good as love, but close.

I never knew my life had a hole
until she filled it,
and now we roll
down streets and roads and avenues,
and from her seat, I take in the views
of a church, a school, a park, a swing,
of the world from a bike,
a beautiful thing.

Now, if my third-grade-caliber similes don’t give you the confidence to share your poetic gushings in a comment, I don’t know what will. Come on now: Lyrics, couplets, limericks—I want to hear how you love your bicycles.

Car-freely,
Amy

4 Comments leave one →
  1. pawl permalink
    May 7, 2010 5:18 pm

    Nice, Brown & White & rode all over.
    Classic.

    Ganymede is my faithful stead
    Takes me everywhere,
    everywhere indeed.
    to work to the park
    to happy hour for mead
    And always back home again,
    everywhere indeed

    that’s all I got for 3rd grade rhymin

  2. avaerewyck permalink
    May 8, 2010 9:07 am

    I like your rhymes, Pawl. Maybe we should start a Bike Poets Society.

Trackbacks

  1. Are free granola bars the answer? « No Car Go
  2. Name my bike. « No Car Go

Leave a Reply

