Skip to content

Dear Wal-Mart, Cyclists shop here too.

May 6, 2010

You can buy a bike at Wal-Mart, but you can't park one there.

Dear Wal-Mart,

I know you’ve got a lot on your plate right now. There are prices to drop, parking lots to pour, small businesses to annihilate, and laborers to exploit. And to top it all off, there are all those irritating employees who keep whining about a living wage.

But I have a very simple request: Get bike racks at your stores.

Yeah, I know I shouldn’t even be stepping foot in your parking lot. I know that you bring a lot of problems to this world. There are books, documentaries, online campaigns, and watchdog groups that highlight them all. So, I shouldn’t even really be looking at the 10-dollar windbreaker or the two-for-one yoga pants.

Alas, my alternatives are fairly limited these days (which is also kind of your fault).

So, when I pedal into the treeless expanse of one of your supercenters, it would be nice if I had a place to lock up my bike—aside from the rail of the grocery cart corral. It would be nice if, when I asked one of your employees where I can park my bike, he were equipped with a helpful reply instead of a dumbfounded look. It would be nice if, when you poured enough asphalt to accommodate a thousand cars, you’d be so kind as to plop a single bike rack on it somewhere.

You’ve razed buildings as big as St. Peter’s Basilica, amassed more net income in one year than the GDP of Afghanistan, altered the face of the entire U.S. economy.

Is one little hunk of metal really that much trouble?

Car-freely,
Amy

4 Comments leave one →
  1. pawl permalink
    May 7, 2010 5:21 pm

    I don’t even know where to begin with this one.
    It makes sense to me they don’t have racks.
    Maybe the universe is trying to tell you something.

  2. avaerewyck permalink
    May 8, 2010 9:05 am

    Yeah, I know the universe doesn’t want me to go to Wal-Mart, but sometimes it’s difficult to avoid here in the heartland.

Trackbacks

  1. Bike Branding from Bubba « No Car Go
  2. Mail is good, mail is great. « No Car Go

Leave a Reply

