Skip to content

No more sleepless nights, No Car Go is back!

June 1, 2010

Phew, that was a car-free close call!

After a two-week silence, No Car Go is back in action.

I’ll bet you’ve been wondering where I’ve been. I’ll bet you thought my silence particularly curious for its overlap with National Bike Month (not to mention Bike-to-Work week and Bike-to-Work Day). I’ll bet you could hardly sleep for worrying about the fate of No Car Go.

My apologies for your troubles. I wanted to be with you. I really did. I had a Bike-to-Work week headline picked out and everything: “Listen to Freddie Mercury: Get on your bike and ride.”

The reason for my silence was a computer virus. If you’ve never experienced a computer virus, let me assure you, it’s an interesting experience—and, of course, by “interesting” I mean extraordinarily frustrating, not to mention a little frightening.

Here are the absurd circumstances that make a computer virus so “interesting”:

  • Every beloved digital file you have, which you should’ve backed up but didn’t, is in jeopardy.
  • You realize everyone you know has been dutifully updating their anti-virus software, while you thought you were doing really well because you’d found a really secure password for your bank account.
  • You’re at the complete mercy of the young man behind the counter at Geek Squad, the name of which is genius-ly fitting.
  • All the while, your poor, sick little computer struggles just to shut down as pop-up after pop-up of naked squatting women fill its screen.

Fortunately, the agent at my Geek Squad precinct (yes, they take the police analogy that far) worked his magic, and my old Dell came out unscathed. Meanwhile, I came out with a few bits of advice for those of you who, like me, tend to shirk your computer security responsibilities:

  1. Beware of virus warning messages and pop-ups that tell you to get anti-virus software, as many of these messages actually contain viruses, which will infect your computer if you click on them (confusing, I know).
  2. Buy an external hard drive, and back up weekly—seriously, do it.
  3. Update your existing anti-virus software regularly, or do a free, legitimate virus scan (recommended by my geek agent).

Yeah, I know it’s not ground-breaking, but it is sound advice. Tell the truth: Have you done all three?

Car-freely,

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Shawn Sweeney permalink
    June 1, 2010 5:36 pm

    Freddie Mercury is the best front man for a band ever. Just sayin’.

  2. pawl permalink
    June 1, 2010 6:44 pm

    I have not done any… but I think my Mac looks for anti-virus software when it does the software updates every week or month or something.
    Also, don’t put your back up external hard drive in the same bag as you computer and leave it in the vehicle (or any place), because if someone steals your bag with the computer in it, the back is gone as well.
    I believe there’s an adage about eggs in a basket in there somewhere.

  3. pawl permalink
    June 1, 2010 6:45 pm

    ps
    glad your Dell baby is unscathed and you are back bloggin… I was wondering what was up, assumed it your move.

  4. Adam Kaylor permalink
    June 2, 2010 6:23 am

    Glad to have you back.

  5. avaerewyck permalink
    June 2, 2010 4:32 pm

    Shawn – It might be a tie between him and Michael Stipe … then, of course, there’s Mick Jagger, Paul McCartney, and pre-pubescent M.J. Geez, how could we pick just one?

    Pawl – Thanks for the additional tip; it’s a good one. I suspect you would also like to advise everyone to buy Macs instead of PCs. It’s the Microsoft villians that the virus creators are after, right?

    Adam – Thanks! When are you and your venerable counterpart coming out for a visit? I’ve got a bed I think you’ll feel at home on.

Leave a Reply

