Skip to content

Name my bike.

July 1, 2010

Do you think I've caused irreversible psychological damage to her?

It’s a disgrace: My bike doesn’t have a name.

And I have no one to blame but myself. Here I am riding her all over the place, praising her constantly, and loving her to death, while at the same time denying her a true, unique identity that distinguishes her from Jamis’ other Auroras.

I think I can say with certainty that my Aurora is unlike any other Aurora out there:

  • No other Aurora has a sticker on its rear rack reading “POWERED BY ME” that was acquired at the 2007 Washington DC Green Festival from a hipster bumper sticker designer.
  • No other Aurora has a slightly mangled right handle bar from falling over in a gas station parking lot when I was just getting used to toe clips.
  • No other Aurora has raspberry seeds anchored by balsamic vinegar to the rear fender from the salad dressing that spilled out of the picnic basket on the way home from Denver’s Jazz in the Park.
  • No other Aurora could possibly feel exactly like mine does when I’m up-shifting into a down-hill during a 20-mile ride on a gorgeous blue-sky day and believing that all is right in the world.

Look closely and you might spot the raspberry seeds too.

For all of these reasons, my Aurora deserves a name—a clever, charming, fitting name.

Trouble is, I can’t think of one. I’ve tossed around celeb names, inanimate object names, old pet names, and nothing seems right. I recall now that for my last vehicle—a 1994 Nissan Sentra named “Claire“—it was a friend who named her. And so I turn to you all now.


Can you help me give my bike a name?

Here are some criteria to guide you:

  • My bike is decidedly female in gender.
  • She was acquired at the Adams Morgan location of City Bikes in Washington, D.C. in the year

    Ain't she a beaut?

    2008 A.D., with the assistance of my friend, Jeff, who offered his expertise on the condition that I resist my usual spend-thrift tendencies and get myself a really nice bike.

  • Her steel frame is brown and cream, with a chip in the cross-bar paint that’s been there ever since I’ve known her and earned me a discount at time of purchase. (Once a bargain-hunter, always a bargain-hunter.)
  • She shifts gears beautifully, takes bumps gracefully, and is always gracious when she glides past other cyclists on the street or trail.

Post your suggestions in a comment for all to see, and thanks in advance for your help!

Car-freely,
Amy

6 Comments leave one →
  1. erin Wainscott permalink
    July 2, 2010 9:01 am

    well there is grace….you called her ‘gracious’ when passing other cyclists!

    or there is something more fun…matilda, maybe ’tilly’ for short?! eh? has a nice ring to it doesn’t it? lol!

  2. avaerewyck permalink
    July 2, 2010 10:30 am

    Oooh, those are good, Erin. Thanks! All right, what do the rest of you got?

  3. Tom White permalink
    July 2, 2010 11:12 am

    Sally Ride.

  4. pawl permalink
    July 6, 2010 4:05 pm

    Raspberry Sally Ride
    Sally for short
    I do like Grace

  5. avaerewyck permalink
    July 7, 2010 4:45 pm

    Wow, you all work together like a team, even though you’ve never met. (Ahem, Pawl, this is Thom; Thom, this is Pawl, my other friend who spells his name oddly.) I do like both Sally and Grace, because they make her seem to be in her golden years. She’s not, but she’s so steady and dependable, she might as well be. Maybe I should name her Hester after my great aunt.

Trackbacks

  1. I got teary-eyed thinking about my old car. « No Car Go

Leave a Reply

