Skip to content

Have you seen these things?

November 23, 2010

Sillier than the string and the putty?

There’s nothing like attending a toddler’s birthday party to open your eyes to new and ridiculous kid products.

The ridiculous product of note: Silly Bandz.

Silly Bandz are rings of rubber molded into every shape imaginable—from the letters of the alphabet to NFL team logos to Justin Bieber’s silhouette. Like their ancestors, the jelly bracelets of 80s fame, Silly Bandz are worn by the dozens and traded on playgrounds, in cafeterias, and at play dates. Apparently, their popularity spans from pre-school to high school (though I’ve heard tell that, after third grade, they can be a sign of immaturity and fashion senselessness punishable to the full extent of kid law).

My sister said her friend calls them “a waste of petroleum.”

Like a 6-year-old though, I can’t help but be jazzed by the pack that the birthday girl’s mom picked out special for me: Bicycles.  There’s a cruiser, a mountain bike, a unicycle, and one of those old-timey big-wheeled bikes.

Our jelly bracelet ancestors would be proud.

Silly Bandz also offers a “Transportation” pack that includes trains and boats, but also a car. My suggestion to the folks at Silly Bandz would be to create a trendy “Car-free Cool” pack that includes:

  • Buses,
  • Subway trains,
  • Streetcars,
  • Motor scooters, and
  • Maybe one of those razor scooter things.

Under the auspices of promoting car-free living, I just might be sporting Silly Bandz this fashion season.

Car-freely,
Amy

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Melanie permalink
    November 23, 2010 12:02 pm

    Cool, Amy!! Any idea where your friend’s mom got the bracelets? I have a friend who cycles and would love to get her some. Happy Thanksgiving!!

    • avaerewyck permalink
      January 21, 2011 2:16 pm

      Did you end up finding any bike Silly Bandz for your friend, Melanie?

  2. Jamie Thiele permalink
    November 23, 2010 12:43 pm

    Great post! I had no idea there were so many themes of silly bands. I missed this boat too! While I was on maternity leave my first graders went nuts over silly bands. I felt so out of the loop (hehe). When I returned to work the sub had confiscated millions!
    I love the idea of having a car-free themed pack! Have you pitched your idea to Silly Bands yet?
    ~Jamie

    • avaerewyck permalink
      January 21, 2011 2:15 pm

      I haven’t pitched the idea, but if I do I’ll let you know how it goes!

  3. Alicia permalink
    November 23, 2010 4:06 pm

    I found them at Wal-Mart. They are not the official Silly Band brand but they also cost about 1/4 of what the “real” ones cost!

  4. pawl permalink
    November 23, 2010 10:22 pm

    They’re on prestigious liberal arts college campuses too, in the coffee shop.

    • avaerewyck permalink
      January 21, 2011 2:14 pm

      So, are we to assume that college students and elementary schoolchildren have the same taste and general intellect?

Leave a Reply

