Skip to content

‘Tis the season to buy rain chaps.

December 16, 2010

Some people celebrate the holidays above freezing point.

Fa la la la la la la la la.

The thing about rain is that it doesn’t really prevent you from cycling, but it can make it pretty miserable.

I know many of you (I’m looking at you, my Midwestern homies) are liver-deep in snow, but many of our country-women and -men are in their rainy season. For example, Portland, Ore., experiences its highest rainfall—normally 5.71 inches—in the month of December.

That’s quite a bit of rain.

For a reference point, New York City normally gets 3.95 inches of precipitation in December, and Chicago gets 2.43 inches.

That’s why my friend, Pawl, in Portland has turned to rain chaps.

He says he’s tried different combinations of pants, shorts, and gaiters, but that ultimately rain chaps were the best solution. He first tried to fashion a pair with his own sewing skills and then resigned to buying a pair for $60.

“They have been one of my favorite purchases I have ever made,” Pawl says.

And I’ve seen them available for less than $60 too.

Myself, I’ve never worn a pair (we chapped-lipped Denverites get .63 inches in December), but I’m excited to know there’s apparel out there that’s specifically designed to make year-round cycling possible.

If you’re reading these words in the Pacific Northwest or some other place with a wet winter (perhaps Solingen, Germany?!), consider getting a pair.

Car-freely,
Amy

4 Comments leave one →
  1. pawl permalink
    December 21, 2010 4:52 pm

    This is what I got:
    http://fastchickengear.com/blog/?page_id=46
    I still use the gaiters too, and I have goretex boots that aren’t too bad with my bike.
    There’s a small gap between the top of the gaiters and the bottom of the chaps, but it’s much less of a problem staying dry there than the gap at the ankles.

  2. avaerewyck permalink
    January 5, 2011 1:05 pm

    Yah, a little wet shin never hurt anyone, right? How well do the chaps fold up to fit into a bag?

  3. January 12, 2011 10:11 pm

    Nice to see my old Instructable still getting kicked around!

    I live and ride in Hoquiam WA one or two kids on the back of my Xtracycle. Keeping us warm and dry is a challenge. Gear is expensive (& kids grow quickly). Getting to a restaurant and having to peel off three pair of clothes etc. is annoying too! Nevertheless, we continue on! 🙂

  4. avaerewyck permalink
    January 13, 2011 12:29 pm

    Thanks for joining the conversation, Kelly, and thanks for the instructions! I’m impressed with your family’s commitment to cycling. I’ll bet you have a lot of tips and tricks that could help the rest of us. I’d love for you to post a few here!

Leave a Reply

