Skip to content

Like Match.com but Without the Winking

January 25, 2011

Quit envying the HOV drivers and join them!

Never got used to life without training wheels? Wear high heels nine days out of 10? Carsharing too hard on your wallet?

Maybe ridesharing is more your thing.

Ridesharing (a.k.a. carpooling) lets you enjoy the comforts and conveniences of a car without the huge impact of owning one and driving it alone.  If you have your own car, it allows you to keep it while decreasing your solo mileage. If you don’t own a car, it allows you to get to car-centric destinations without using half your day and all your brain cells.

Now rideshare websites are making it a viable car-lite option by matching riders and drivers.

Ridesharing is an especially good option if you work or travel regularly to places that aren’t bike-friendly or transit-accessible. My local rideshare, RideArrangers organized by the Denver Regional Council of Governments, is free to join and offers carpool, vanpool, and schoolpool services.

You enter your home and work locations, and the site matches you with people traveling similar routes. I went ahead and joined and will keep you posted about how it goes.

Want to find a rideshare program near you? Check the handy Rideshare Directory.

To prove that rideshares are everywhere, here are just a few examples of places with rideshare programs:

And that’s to say nothing of all the stuff happening on Craigslist and Ridester.

The longer I’m car-free, the morecar-free and car-lite options I learn about.

And I don’t use the same options every day. Some days I want to feel the street glide beneath the tires of my Jamis Aurora. Some days I want to walk, so I can stroll into my favorite coffee shop. Some days I want to sit next to the bus’s warm heater. Some days I want to get to my appointment in the suburbs without having to get up at 5 a.m.

The moral of this story:

Just because it’s cold or it’s raining or you live in the suburbs or you hate biking (gasp!) doesn’t mean you can’t join the car-free movement.

Car-freely,
Amy

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Wendy permalink
    January 25, 2011 2:53 pm

    so, umm…what is your work location? I mean, since you entered it and all.

    • avaerewyck permalink
      January 26, 2011 10:42 am

      I left that part blank since I work from home, but that may not be the case for long. If I get a job outside the home, I’m definitely going to look into using RideArrangers.

Leave a Reply

