Skip to content

Get off the snowy roads and into a good book.

February 1, 2011

Snow + Sub-zero temperatures = Perfect reading weather

Right now, basically half our country is huddled inside against the snow and cold. We could all use something to read other than Facebook posts about the snow and cold, right?

Here’s my suggestion: How Did You Get This Number by Sloane Crosley.

It’s got David Sedaris’ blessing, and I don’t need much more than that to believe something’s funny. But in case you need something more, I’ll tell you that this is one of those books I thought I’d endure and ended up loving.

I picked it up at the library on a whim when the book I’d wanted was checked out. Soon, I was in readerly heaven, following this lovably witty, 20-something, suburban-turned-urban girl over to Portugal, up to Alaska, and around New York.

Crosley is funny, she’s clever, and above all, she’s real. She whispers to you about her idiot expat moments. She tells you about her learning disability. And if you make it to the last chapter, she shows you her emotional side through the details of a bad break-up.

By the time you exit the book, you’ll:

  • Feel nostalgic for zit stickers,
  • Forgive your horrible past roommates, and
  • Understand what the author means by “If you have to ask, you can’t afford it.”

And when you’re done with that, try I Was Told There’d Be Cake.

Published in 2008, when Crosley was just shy of the 30-year mark, the book was a New York Times Bestseller and finalist for the Thurber Prize for American Humor.

I haven’t been able to get my hands on it yet, but I aim to very soon.

Car-freely,
Amy

2 Comments leave one →
  1. tallpawl permalink
    February 7, 2011 10:33 pm

    Thanks for these suggestions, I need some good (non?)fiction/memoiry stuff.

    • avaerewyck permalink
      February 9, 2011 12:27 pm

      Yes, they’re both memoirs, Pawl. Sorry, I left that detail out. I love memoirs so much. Fiction’s great too, of course, but there’s something really powerful to me about reading a really great story in the knowledge that it happened not just in the author’s head but in real life.

Leave a Reply

