Skip to content

I went to prom. I’m not kidding.

February 8, 2011

Your bike stays safe and dry when you dine at "the Merc."

What’d you do Saturday night?

I went to prom!

Yessiree, I pulled out my old dress from high school and, after spending a moment rejoicing in the fact that I can still fit in it, put that thing on, and headed out with my beau to dance the night away.

Prom was at the Mercury Café, which I love for many reasons, not the least of which being that it has indoor bike parking! Being in an ankle-length gown, as I was, and the streets being ankle deep in slush, as they were, I did not take advantage of this amenity. Still, I had a lovely, prommy time.

There were corsages and boutonnières and bad table centerpieces—just like in high school.

We fast-danced to “Thriller” and slow-danced to “Always and Forever” and then went to get our photo taken in front of a bedazzled backdrop. The place was decorated with roses and white Christmas lights, and a queen and king were crowned late in the evening.

The only difference about this prom-for-adults was that there was a cash bar.

Mrs. Turf and Mr. Tonsoni never would’ve allowed that. High school teachers know better than to give alcohol to people in high heels—especially the seemingly already-accident-prone girl with her arm in a sling who stumbled her stilettos right into my ankle.

Also, instead of being only an overly-hyped, debatably elegant, and painful-for-many social event, this prom was a non-profit fundraiser. Ticket proceeds this year benefit Rise Above It, which is a cancer support organization for adolescents and young adults.

And we didn’t go to Six Flags the day after either.

Nevertheless, the nostalgia and philanthropy were enough to make me start thinking about what I’ll wear next year.

Car-freely,
Amy

2 Comments leave one →
  1. erin Wainscott permalink
    February 8, 2011 10:27 am

    i would like to request pictures of this prom!

    • avaerewyck permalink
      February 9, 2011 12:23 pm

      Bear in mind, Erin, as you look at these photos, that this prom could never have topped the elegance and grace that we brought to the LaPorte Civic Auditorium.

      All prom pics here:
      http://vprom.org/?page_id=114&psmash-gallery=5

      Pics sure to make you laugh here:

      and here:

Leave a Reply

