Skip to content

My car-free life just got more interesting.

March 1, 2011

Arrivederci, espresso!

Were you starting to get bored with this blog? Well, listen up, ‘cause things just got a whole lot more interesting.

Here’s what my life used to be like:

  1. Get up at 7 or 8 a.m., depending on the activities of the preceding evening.
  2. Do some stretches and calisthenics.
  3. Eat breakfast and linger over Italian-style, stove-top espresso.
  4. Tool around the internet before settling into a few hours of working/writing/tooling around on the internet.
  5. Go for a run or a bike ride.6. Shower.
  6. Pour myself a glass of wine.
  7. Call friends to make plans for dinner.

Here’s what my life is like now:

  1. Get up at 5:30 or 6 a.m.
  2. Feel guilty for not getting up early enough to work out.
  3. Do some half-asleep stretches.
  4. Shower.
  5. 5. Eat cold cereal and hurry out the door.
  6. Take two buses and a train, totaling 82 minutes, or alternately, beg for a ride.
  7. Arrive at a destination void of much other than a post office, a Bennigan’s , and my place of employment.
  8. Turn on my computer to see my desktop background of a perfect espresso shot.
  9. Pour myself a glass of cheap, office-stock drip coffee.
  10. Work for eight or nine hours.
  11. Take two buses and a train, totaling 82 minutes, or alternately, beg for a ride.
  12. Feel guilty for not having enough energy to work out.

So, I’ve gone and gotten myself a job in the suburbs. Can you believe it?

Better stay posted and see how I cope with this life curveball.

Car-freely,
Amy

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 1, 2011 11:37 am

    Would love more details about what you do, see, what your thinking during those 164 minutes of travel.
    Bill in the near Denver suburb of Lakewood

    • avaerewyck permalink
      March 2, 2011 8:27 am

      Details about my light rail meanderings in posts to come! Thanks, Bill.

  2. pawl permalink
    March 1, 2011 10:13 pm

    Lame.
    However, the one thing I miss about a near 1.5 hour one way commute is the quality reading time.
    Hope you have some good books.
    What type of work is it?

    • avaerewyck permalink
      March 2, 2011 8:27 am

      I do have some good books, though I also have quite a few transit transfers to interrupt those good books – darn it. The work is writing-focused – hooray!

Leave a Reply

