Skip to content

Something about a short green bus seems to brings people together.

March 8, 2011

Is that a Call-n-Ride bus or a Westin Hotel?

In the short time since I started riding Denver’s short, green Call-n-Ride bus—which gets you from the light rail station to your final car-centric destination in the suburbs—I’ve already made three new friends!

First, there’s Clay.

He works in my office, and he commutes from the city to the suburbs by public transit too. He fielded my questions about how long the trip takes and how much it costs. He told me where to wait for the Call-n-Ride bus, which takes you from the light rail station to your office building, and he shared with me this crucial bit of information:

Most the time, you don’t have to call the Call-n-Ride to get a ride.

Then, there’s John.

The first day I used public transit to get home from work, he was standing at the Call-n-Ride stop, which is actually just a suburban street corner void of any signage or markings indicating that a short, green bus stops there every 10 minutes.We nodded hello, and I asked him if this was where the bus would come. He assured me it was, told me the bus’s ETA, and that it came with a three-minute margin of error.

John works for an RV service company and does not personally own a vehicle.

Then, there’s Dean.

John introduced me to Dean, as we boarded the Call-n-Ride bus. Dean is the bus driver. He smiled, welcomed me aboard, and asked if I had any questions.

I felt more like I was being welcomed to a five-star hotel than to a public bus.

Maybe it’s just more of the Colorado neighborliness I love, but I think this commuter community might be a really lovely bunch. And I just might be able to get used to the short bus.

Car-freely,
Amy

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Wendy permalink
    March 8, 2011 4:13 pm

    So glad that you seem to have found a good solution to your commuting problems without having to buy a car. How long is your trip now?

  2. Rebecca permalink
    March 9, 2011 8:55 pm

    That’s cool. It’s like a secret bus. Like the cat bus in My Neighbor Totoro.

  3. pawl permalink
    March 10, 2011 8:33 pm

    Yay! Call-n-Ride.

Trackbacks

  1. I’m ba-ack. « No Car Go

Leave a Reply

