Skip to content

Motorists envy my parallel parking skills.

May 23, 2011

Though you can't tell from this angle, I DID have back it in.

Remember when I was a bright-eyed new-comer to the Mile-high City?

This past week, I celebrated my one-year anniversary of residence in Denver.

That got me  thinking about my move last year, from my native land of northwest Indiana back here to my beloved Centennial State. I thought about all the boxes packed. I thought about all the goodbyes said. I thought about all the miles driven. I thought about my moving truck.

I parallel-parked that moving truck like it was nobody’s business.

I know there are more important skills in life than parallel parking—dinner cooking, resume writing, and schedule managing to name a few. But we all know how satisfying it is to step out of the car and see the wheels nearly flush against  the curb.

Even we non-motoring folk know a perfect parallel parking job gives a feeling that has few equivalents.

In the course of my move-in, I had to park that thing three times, and all three times I nailed it. I felt so jolly about it I took pictures!

I can’t say why I nailed it exactly. Maybe trucks, with no deceptive trunk space, are easier to park

Eat your heart our, car-drivers.

than cars. Maybe cycling has a curious way of developing vehicle parallel parking skills. Maybe it was luck.

Or maybe, just maybe, that pristine park job was my first sign that I was in the right place—and still am a year later.

Car-freely,
Amy

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Lizzie permalink
    May 24, 2011 3:53 pm

    Or maybe it means you’re meant to ditch that bike a drive a big moving truck from now on. Just maybe. I can’t believe you’ve been gone a year! It was a very sad goodbye, but it will be a happy hello in 4 days!!!

    • avaerewyck permalink
      May 25, 2011 9:21 pm

      I can’t believe it’s been a year either. As I located the photos here, I looked through others from that time and came across ones of my going-away dinner at your little place on D Street. How our lives have changed in one year!

  2. pawl permalink
    May 24, 2011 7:22 pm

    Nicely done.
    Bigger boxier trucks are easier to get your spatial relation around. Also, the side-view mirrors are indispensable for backing in, you can’t just throw your arm over the passenger seat and eyeball it in a truck. But use your mirrors and you have a perfect view of the side of your vehicle from the outside. It’s a nice view, I wish people would look at it more often.

    • avaerewyck permalink
      May 25, 2011 9:22 pm

      Aw, c’mon Pawl, don’t let my secret to precision parking out of the bag just when I had them fooled!

Leave a Reply

