Skip to content

Winter, you’re not fun anymore.

February 23, 2012
Ice skating winter fun

OK, you're a little bit fun.

I’ve said it more than once in the past three months: “This feels like a Midwest winter.”

I’ve become accustomed to the tolerable dry cold, quickly-gone snowfalls and intermittent warm afternoons that come with winter in a semi-arid region like Colorado’s Front Range. I don’t particularly enjoy the fact that this winter has reminded me of my winters growing up in northwest Indiana: cold, gray, interminable.

So, yesterday, when Denver temps reached nearly 60 degrees Fahrenheit, I took advantage of the opportunity to bike to work.

My bike commute to my new-ish job downtown is super-easy: four miles total, half along a residential street with a bike lane and half along a pleasant, creek-side bike path. It usually takes me about 20 minutes, which is shorter than my total light rail trip.

The ride into the office kick-started my morning’s work and made me feel less like devouring pastries and more like snacking on grapes. The invigorating ride home gave me the second wind I needed to cook dinner and do the dishes. It also gave me the justification to reward myself with a glass of wine and a good, long gabfest with my roommate, Meredith.

I remembered, with pleasure, the myriad benefits of bike commuting.

This morning, it’s snowing again.

Car-freely,
Amy

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Dad permalink
    February 23, 2012 8:45 pm

    Yea, the NWI / midwest winters may be a little tough, but we have a lake here!!!

    • avaerewyck permalink
      February 24, 2012 10:37 am

      I do miss the lake, but not the lake effect!

Leave a Reply

