Skip to content

What is appropriate?

April 5, 2012
Sign Language for "spaghetti"

She laughed really hard when she did this one.

Here’s the setting: A crowded, urban public transit train. Weekday morning, pre-8 a.m. Standing room only.

In this setting, which of the following behaviors would you consider appropriate?

a. Occupying an entire two-person seat with your sleeping body.
b. Occupying an entire two-person seat with yourself and your purse.
c. Sitting in the stairwell and watching other riders climb over you.
d. Conversing loudly enough to span the aisle.
e. Making sign language gestures to your friend and then yelling the word for each sign (neither party hard of hearing).
f. Giggling over said signing and yelling.
g. Setting the volume of your headphones to a level audible to those not wearing them.
h. Playing martial arts video games on your phone with the sound on.

I have been a witness to all.

Car-freely,
Amy

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Wendy permalink
    April 6, 2012 2:26 am

    I hear ya Amy…as loudly as I hear all those impolite people and their thumping bass on public transport. Weird thing I have found in London, the tube is generally quiet but the busses are a mad house in the morning. But on the pleasant side, I have seen many people give up their seats to people less able to stand, makes me smile. It takes all kinds I guess.

    • avaerewyck permalink
      April 6, 2012 9:47 am

      Yeah, I think there’s definitely a culture difference between trains and buses. Seems to me like it has to do with the cost of each and the type of people who rice each mode. I’m not saying the poorer people are ruder and louder, but I do think maybe when something costs a little more and is better taken care, it takes on a more dignified atmosphere. You think?

  2. April 16, 2014 10:13 pm

    I know this is VERY off subject, but… I am looking for picture exchange communication images, such as the spaghetti one above, to aid in my son’s speech therapy process. Do you, by chance, remember where you found this one? Thanks in advance!

    • avaerewyck permalink
      April 17, 2014 9:49 am

      Sorry, Ashley, this was two years ago, so I can’t remember the website, but I’m sure I stumbled upon the image through a Google search. Best of luck!

Leave a Reply

