Skip to content

What gets me out of bed in the morning

April 10, 2012
Katniss Barbie

Katniss Barbie, for real.

This morning, I woke up and couldn’t wait to get on the light rail train. Not because I so love the train or so adore the job it takes me to each day (though I count myself lucky to have each).

The reason I brush my teeth extra fast and practically run out the door is because I get to read on the train—and I just started The Hunger Games.

I realize the movie’s the big thing now, and I’m a little behind. (Cut me some slack. I had to wait through 732 other library holds before I could check it out.) Nevertheless, this book is a fascinating page-turner that motivates me to drag myself out from under the covers.

What a happy existence I lead, thanks to good trains and good books.

While others on the train stare blandly out the window or check their Facebook wall for the 10th time, I’m enthralled, wondering if Katniss will die of dehydration, if Peeta will get stung by poisonous wasps, if Haymitch will puke on himself again.

Any good books getting you out of bed in the morning?

Car-freely,
Amy

One Comment leave one →
  1. eileen mc permalink
    April 10, 2012 4:35 pm

    I would have to agree, Amy! First book I finished this school year for MY pleasure. I stayed up late to read it and got a bit stressed out worrying about Katniss and the whole ordeal. I decided I would need to wait until summer to finish the series. Greg and I went to see the movie the day I finished the book. Book’s better, of course!

Leave a Reply

