Skip to content

What parking is like in my world

April 19, 2012

I think my parking spot is more secure than the car spots, and I don't have to pay for it.

When I ride my bike to the office, here’s what my parking experience is like:

  1. I coast down the parking garage ramp, in a bike lane separated from the cars by permanent cones.
  2. I swipe my ID card, and a door automatically swings open for my bike and me to walk through.
  3. I pedal around one parking garage curve over to a chain-link cage filled with bike racks.
  4. I unlock the cage padlock and wheel my bike inside.
  5. I use my U-lock to secure my bike and helmet to one of the bike racks.
  6. I sling my pannier over my shoulder, close the cage gate, and re-lock the padlock.
  7. I exit the parking garage and cross the street to my office.
What’s parking like in your world?

Car-freely,
Amy

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Sean permalink
    April 19, 2012 5:22 pm

    I ride a big red bike over to the designated Denver Bcycle station, park it, and forget about it until I need it again. 😉

    • avaerewyck permalink
      May 3, 2012 8:24 pm

      Sounds awesome, Sean. Three cheers for Denver B-cycle!

Leave a Reply

