Skip to content

My love/hate relationship with the Burger King sprinkler

June 19, 2012
Speer Blvd. & Lincoln St., Denver, Colo.

This is where the rogue sprinkler lives.

There’s a sprinkler on my ride to work.

It’s behind the Burger King at the busy intersection of Lincoln Street, Speer Boulevard and 6th Avenue. I can’t figure out the rhyme or reason of the sprinkler’s timer schedule, and I have to focus on navigating the heavy traffic, so I can’t worry about dodging the spray.

Sometimes the sprinkler gets me, and sometimes it doesn’t.

One thing I’ve noticed though is that erratic sprinkler helps me gauge my mood in the morning:

  • If I’m grumpy, I flinch at the spray of water and mumble profanities under my breath, cursing the faceless controller of city sprinklers.
  • If I’m content, I ride, head-up, as the cool, refreshing mist hits the bare skin of my ankles, and I might even smile a little.

Funny thing, isn’t it, the way our view of the world depends so much on how we happen to be feeling at that moment?

Look at me getting all philosophical.

Anyway, I’m happy to report that this morning, when the sprinkler got me, I smiled.

Car-freely,
Amy

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

