Skip to content

Yes, I CAN drive a car.

July 19, 2012

Welcome to our houseAnd this weekend, I will drive one!

What’s the occasion, you ask? Well, it’s one of the five instances when it’s smart to break down and rent a car: I’m hosting guests!

My dear friend, Meredith, is marrying the man of her dreams on Saturday, and three close friends who are traveling for the wedding will be staying with me. Denver’s airport is pretty far out east of the city and not super-accessible via public transit, and the rehearsal dinner is west of the city in Golden. So, I thought it made sense to get some wheels with a motor to get us all where we need to be.

I have a membership with eGo CarShare, the Denver-Boulder area car share organization, but unfortunately, their rates aren’t an economical option for longer-term rentals. (Car shares are a great deal for short-term car use.) So, this time I’m going with Hertz. They have a rental site downtown right near my office, so getting the car should be a snap.

When you don’t drive regularly, the experience is a bit more anxiety-inducing than for the average motorist. You’re operating a foreign vehicle, navigating streets you don’t normally traverse, and reminding yourself that a motor (unlike a set of pedals) gives you the power to impede speed limits.

But I’m not all that nervous about this weekend. In fact, I’m looking forward to driving just a little bit.

The car is small  and automatic transmission, and the route to DIA is as simple as can be. Waiting at the airport will be three of my favorite people—Tracy, Jeff, and Courtney—and I’ll have the opportunity to re-pay some of my deep, deep ride-giving debt.

Welcome to Casa Car-free-except-when-you’re-here, friends!

Car-freely,
Amy

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 23, 2012 6:44 am

    I occasionally rent cars as well and typically use Enterprise because they seem to have the best rates. They have great deals in the off season for 3 day weekends.

    • avaerewyck permalink
      August 15, 2012 10:19 am

      Good to know. Thanks for the tip, Ramona, and thanks for reading!

Trackbacks

  1. What Happened with Hertz « No Car Go

Leave a Reply

