Skip to content

Dear driver who almost hit my dog and me while we were jogging this morning,

July 26, 2012
Thurston, dog

Maybe you didn’t get a good look at your victim through your windshield. Here you go.

I hope this letter finds you well and safely arrived at whatever destination you were  headed toward this morning in your black SUV when you nearly clipped both me and my dog at the corner of Asbury and South Logan Streets. I hope you’re having a sunshiny day, and that you’re not feeling like a jerk or an idiot for steering your absurdly-sized vehicle within two feet of pedestrians who had the right of way.

Sadly, our early-morning meeting was so brief that we didn’t get much of a chance to connect. I’m sure you’ll oblige in answering a few lingering questions I have for you:

  1. Is it your belief that using turn signals is an optional driving practice? (And here, I always thought it was such a simple, flip-of-the-finger tool for communicating with others on roadways and preventing vehicular homicide. Silly me!)
  2. Would you say that navigating residential streets without checking for pedestrians on sidewalks and crosswalks is a habit of yours? (Just curious.)
  3. When my jog turned into a frantic run and my hand yanked the dog leash to pull him close to me, could you sense my fear?
  4. Was it possible for you to hear me scream down the street, “What is wrong with you?!” as you drove away or, perhaps, did the hum of your air conditioning and XM radio render you oblivious to living creatures outside your tinted, rolled-up windows?

Thank you so much for taking the time to read my letter, driver who almost hit my dog and me. You clearly have a very busy life, what with no time even for turn signals. I wish you all the best, and I hope no daughter, son, or pet of yours is hit one day by a negligent motorist. I mean that.

Car-freely,
Amy

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 26, 2012 8:51 am

    Glad you’re okay! That’s just too horrible when that kind of thing happens.

    • avaerewyck permalink
      July 27, 2012 9:25 am

      Thanks for your concern. Situations like these make me so angry, I just have to write about them. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

