Skip to content

I couldn’t have said it better myself …

October 2, 2012

Frogger… so I won’t.

Just go ahead and read this Slate op-ed piece by Jim Saksa and find out “Why You Hate Cyclists.”

However, I can’t resist highlighting a few key points:

  • “… your estimate of the number of asshole cyclists and the degree of their assholery is skewed by what behavioral economists like Daniel Kahneman call the affect heuristic … people make judgments by consulting their emotions instead of logic.”
  • “The “otherness” of cyclists makes them stand out, and that helps drivers cement their negative conclusions.”
  • “… bikers are less likely to stereotype drivers, because most of us also drive.”
  • “Once a person becomes aware of her biases, she is more able to engage rational thought processes to overcome the affect heuristic and dispel her inaccurate conclusions. So, study those stats, bike haters!”

And here’s my favorite line from the piece: “… like Frogger on a fixie.”

Car-freely,
Amy

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Andrea permalink
    October 9, 2012 5:42 am

    I good find on the article and “frogger on a fixie” was my fave too!

    • avaerewyck permalink
      October 9, 2012 9:37 am

      Thanks, Andrea! Oh, and I forgot to give credit: Tom found the article for me.

Leave a Reply

