Skip to content

If everyone took pictures off a bridge, would you?

October 9, 2012
I-25 Denver closed for presidential debate

Nary a Durango, Tahoe, or Yukon in sight.

Last Wednesday, I was walking to the grocery store at I-25 and Washington Street, and as I crossed the bridge over the highway, I saw gaggles of people staring out through the bars of the safety fence. Many of them were holding up cameras and snapping photos.

Then, I noticed the silence. Then, I snapped a photo, too. You can see it here.

The reason for the empty highway: the presidential candidates debate was taking place down the road at the University of Denver. The city’s main north-south traffic artery closed from 5 to 10 p.m. in the name of democracy—I kind of like that.

When I came out of the grocery store, I heard fellow shoppers remark about how quiet it was, without the non-stop roar of the highway. “How weird!” they said.

“Weird” is one word for it. “Perfect” is another.

Car-freely,
Amy

One Comment leave one →
  1. Andrea permalink
    October 10, 2012 12:52 pm

    Awesome is another!

Leave a Reply

