Skip to content

The Two Sides of My Story

February 12, 2013
Samsung gusto 2 sch-u365 cdma 1x flip clamshell phone verizon

I have a flip phone, and I’m not afraid to admit it.

On the one side:

The other day after work, I was talking on the phone on the Light Rail station platform while waiting for the train to go home. I was talking to my friend who was ready to have a baby (and has since had a healthy baby boy!) any day.

Just as I was asking about baby names, some one tapped me on my arm and said, “Amy, I yelled ‘Hello’ to you three times!”

It was a colleague, who had been waiting on the platform, too. Because I was so engrossed in the baby talk, I hadn’t even noticed her trying to get my attention. She seemed put out.

On the other side:

On any given day, approximately five of my friends and family members are at different points of anger with me for not picking up the phone when they call me.

Nine times out of 10, I don’t pick up the phone, because I’m interacting with someone in person and either don’t hear the phone ring or don’t want to interrupt the present interaction.

Chew on that.

Car-freely,
Amy

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Larry Vaerewyck permalink
    February 13, 2013 8:58 pm

    If it is your Dad, answer the phone!!! Love you, Dad.

  2. Sara Wuellner permalink
    February 18, 2013 1:31 pm

    Was the friend you were talking to me? I am so glad that you called me and that sometimes you answer when I call 🙂 I love you Amy!

    • avaerewyck permalink
      March 13, 2013 9:13 am

      I’ll try to answer more often, Sara! 🙂

Leave a Reply

